My First NaNoWriMo

Cait and Sky have this awesome link up called “Beautiful Books” where NaNoWriMo participants get to dish about their Nano projects. And I wanted to do this before Nano completely overwhelmed me and I drowned in words and paper. (This is my first time participating in Nano. I’m clearly nervous.) So, without further ado, time to answer some questions about my writing.

beautiful books

  1. What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?
    Disclaimer: I have already begun this book and I’m about 30K in, so this idea has already sprung to life.I originally got the idea in early January. And my boyfriend is the one who brought it to light. Here’s how it went down:
    ME: The show* is coming on tomorrow! The one I’ve been telling you about!
    BOYFRIEND: Oh, right…Stormcatchers?
    ME: Umm. No…But that sounds like a good title for a book. I don’t know what it would be about, but I like it.

    *That show was actually Shadowhunters.
  2. Describe what your novel is about!
    I think my book would qualify as magical realism. After her mother’s death, Liya moves with her father to Florida into her grandmother’s house. And as she transitions into this new life, she also (unexpectedly for her) must transition into the life of a Stormcatcher, which she just learned about.

  3. What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!
    WEATHER & FOOD. But mostly weather.
     : Leaves funneling:
  4. Introduce us to each of your characters!
    Since I already started, I’ve got tooooo many characters to introduce. So I’ll stick with three.
    Liya:
    My MC and your narrator. She’s got a lot to deal with, but you better believe she’s relatable. She cries and shouts and doubts herself, but she won’t just lie down and quit. She’s making the most of what’s going on around her.
    Abuela: This is Liya’s grandmother, actually named Rosa. She is sweet and spunky. And she provides the food I mentioned before.
    Chase:
    This is my humorous sidekick. He’s fun and sweet and handsome and good-spirited and optimistic and everything. I love him.
  5. How do you prepare to write? (Outline, research, stocking up on chocolate, howling, etc.?)
    LOL. I’m a terrible preparer. I’m a pantster. I always have chocolate on hand, but I wish for cupcakes/cake, which I’d try to avoid eating since I’m trying to be healthier and not get scurvy*. I kind of do a mental outline because I know about my main conflict, but how I get there is up to my characters. And research usually just happens during the writing process.

    *Too much Outlander/Poldark making me think I should’ve gotten scurvy a decade ago.
  6. What are you most looking forward to about this novel?
    Finally getting to my main conflict. So far I’ve basically written what I consider the equivalent of a TV series pilot episode. I introduced the characters and the Stormcatcher world. Also, everything that Chase says. Because I love him. I seriously cannot wait for what comes out of his mouth. And, as Cait put it in her post: FINISHING. “Author” is a career goal, but I need the book to be done first before that can happen. It’s time to make that happen!
  7. List 3 things about your novel’s setting.
    Hot. Humid. Rainy. That’s Florida for you.

  8. What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?
    Happiness. My character truly wants to be happy, and she wants to make her family proud at the same time that she finds her happiness, which also means getting the Stormcatcher life down. Mostly, she stands in her own way, because she’s got some powerful feelings that bring her down.
  9. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
    She will definitely learn to be stronger and more in command of her feelings. And hopefully more changes, but my pantster self isn’t sure what else yet.

  10. What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?
    Finding your self; love in family and friends; internal strength. I want readers to come away with this feeling that they aren’t alone with their chaotic emotions, and that everyone has bad days. You just have to know that something better will come of it. And I want readers to feel happy, to know they are stronger than they seem.

Leave a comment