“Throne of Glass” Wins as Champion of Fantasy

Since December, Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass has been sitting on my shelf. Screenshot 2016-04-01 18.32.51Due to my insane schedule, I have only just recently read it. I wish I read it sooner because it was so amazing!

Synopsis: Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s infamous assassin. She has also been imprisoned in the Endovier work camp for a year. But all that changes when the Captain of the Guard, Chaol Westfall, pulls her out to speak with the Crown Prince, Dorian Havilliard. Prince Dorian has chosen her to be his Champion in a competition the king is having, and in return for her service if she wins, he will grant her her freedom. Though Celaena is hesitant, she won’t pass up an offer to be free. She might think she has the competition in the bag, but there is an evil lurking about the castle. One that she must confront.

There is so much to gush about that I hardly know where to get started!

While reading this book, I kept thinking of a couple of lines of poetry (when taken out of context of the poem) that were PERFECT for Celaena. By Dylan Thomas, they go a little something like this:

Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

I mean this girl does not give up. She is a fighter. Tough on the inside and tough on the outside, Celaena is a force to be reckoned with. I LOVE HER. Not only is she a super cool assassin, but she’s also brilliant. She’s witty and a booknerd. Can I be best friends with her, please?

Speaking of friends, I would like to be friends with Dorian and Chaol. (Maybe more than friends with Dorian. I was extreme swooning over him.) They’re both very complex characters that are written so wonderfully. Both loyal, hardworking, and intelligent, and Dorian makes me giggle with his flirtations.

The world building of Erilea was great. It was incorporated so well that I wasn’t nodding off whenever some history backstory was mentioned (unlike some books that just dump so much onto you at once). And then there’s this other world apart from Erilea, which I’m sure we’ll see/hear more of in the next books of the series. As per my cup of tea, these worlds aren’t without their share of magical qualities. Even if magic wasn’t involved, I think this book would have still been fantastic for readers, just watching Celaena kick butt and talk back to everyone.

I’m trying so hard to think of something negative to say, but I really can’t find any faults with this book. (I didn’t like Princess Nehemia’s name? That’s not really something to complain about though.) Sarah gets 5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

