Writing Wednesday – Week 3

When I looked at my calendar today and saw it was Wednesday, I got so excited. Because today is another Writing Wednesday, and–guess what–I was actually working on my book! I did not get called in to work for substituting and I had a quick editing assignment that only took me an hour, which left plenty of writing time. [Insert screaming excitedly GIF here that I’m too lazy to find myself.]

I edited two chapters today– CH. 4 and CH. 5. That might not seem like a lot, and I agree it isn’t a lot, but it’s something. I had to stop and confirm some things with more research, such as:

  • What did male Mojave Native Americans wear?
  • What color were the Mojave tattoos?
  • Glowing mushrooms.
  • How did Indians communicate with Settlers?
  • Origins of archery.
  • Can animals fly backwards?

Unfortunately, looking this up took much more time than necessary because I got distracted with other related information.

I also had to keep going back to fix certain things. Sometimes I would mention something casually that I forgot to introduce earlier. Other times I had to confirm a change I had made earlier/later in the story.

Either way, I knew it was going to be a long process when I got into it, so this is to be expected. Luckily, I had Ghirardelli chocolate–with caramel!–to keep my spirits up. I’m hoping to get more editing time in tomorrow. I’m crossing my fingers that I finish editing the book for beta readers by the end of this month.

Is anyone else in their editing process or about to be? Anyone planning to write/edit for Camp NaNoWriMo? If so, happy writing!

Leave a Reply

