“The Skylighter” Reviewed

I decided to request The Skylighter (the sequel to The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace) from NetGalley, and Simon and Schuster image.jpegChildren’s Publishing approved my request! (The second ARC I’ve been granted. WOO!) So, without further ado, here is my honest review.

Goodreads Synopsis: Johanna and Rafi are in a race against time to save their country before a power-mad Keeper destroys everything they hold dear in the “enthralling magical world” (Cinda Williams Chima, author of The Heir Chronicles) introduced in The Storyspinner.
As the last of the royal line, Johanna is the only person who can heal a magical breach in the wall that separates her kingdom of Santarem from the land of the Keepers, legendary men and women who wield elemental magic. The barrier protects Santarem from those Keepers who might try to take power over mere humans…Keepers who are determined to stop Johanna and seize the wall’s power for themselves.
And they’re not the only ones. As the duchys of Santarem descend into war over the throne, Johanna relies more than ever on the advice of her handsome companion, Lord Rafael DeSilva. But Rafi is a duke too, and his people come first. As their friendship progresses into the beginnings of a tender relationship, Johanna must wonder: is Rafi looking out for her happiness, or does he want the throne for himself?
With war on the horizon, Johanna and Rafi dodge treacherous dukes and Keeper assassins as they race to through the countryside, determined to strengthen the wall before it’s too late…even if it means sacrificing their happiness for the sake of their world.

The book picks up exactly whee we left off in the first book. (Thank the Keepers!)

The Skylighter felt so much more fast paced than the first. A LOT of action, which is wonderful, because I’m always enthralled when things are happening. I hardly ever put the book down (only when I had to).

I enjoyed every last bit of the plot, hence why it took me only a couple of days to read. The one thing that bothered me was the title of the book. I know that sounds like it has nothing to do with the plot, but let me explain why it did for me. I kept expecting a Skylighter, a new character, to be introduced and heavily influence the plot. The first one had a majorly important Storyspinner, so it made sense for a Skylighter to be important for the second book. Yeah…well that didn’t happen. I was disappointed with that. I just waited for a Skylighter to show up, so it distracted me in the back of my mind.

As far as characters go, there’s a good amount of Pira. Her perspective is crucial in this book. I didn’t see her as important for the story as a whole in the first, but this book needed Pira. And she’s not a character I dislike reading about. She is just as strong as in the last book. Johanna and Rafi were still wonderful. Dom–my book boyfriend–had a chance to grow so much more in this book and we are able to see the complexities in his character. It just made me feel more in love with him. Jacaré fell a bit flat for me, because everyone was growing, but he didn’t do much changing.

Overall, this was a great end to The Keepers’ Chronicles duology. It ties up all the loose ends nicely and makes you feel connected to most of the characters. The Skylighter will be available for purchase on March 22, 2016, and you’ll want to see how this series ends!

Becky earns a 4.5 out of 5 stars!

Leave a Reply

