A Wonderfully Spun Story by Becky Wallace

The Storyspinner had been sitting on my shelf for quite some time, and I finally picked it up. I went in blindly, not really knowing what the book was about. It turned out to be a Screenshot 2016-03-13 18.05.09pleasant surprise.

Synopsis: Johanna Von Arlo has lived as a Performer her entire life. She can sing and Storyspin. She suddenly finds herself working for the tough, albeit handsome, Rafael DeSilva, the soon-to-be duke of Santiago.
At the same time, over the wall separating the land of Santarem, the Keepers, a magical race of people,  have
been keeping an eye on the princess of the fallen Roraima for years, but something is wrong and their magical image has frozen. A small group of Keepers is resolved to search for the princess and keep her safe.

This book is split into many perspectives. That caught me off guard because when it first changed, I thought, “Okay, so two main characters. Cool.” But then it kept changing! To six different people! (That’s my fault for going in knowing absolutely nothing.) Leão (as wonderful a character as he was) didn’t feel as necessary as the other perspectives though. He didn’t add as much to the story as everyone else did, but I will admit I liked learning more about his feelings.

Johanna, the leading lady of the story, reminded me a lot of Feyre from Sarah J. Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses. Both of them are such strong and complex characters. That’s not to say that Pira isn’t also a strong character; I just didn’t feel as connected to her as I did with Johanna.

Rafi, Jacaré, and Dom were all great guys. I have a thing for witty and funny characters, so I declare Dom as another one of my book boyfriends. Rafi and Jacaré are both very similar: strong, patriotic, thoughtful. I didn’t really find any faults with them except that Rafi felt like a younger version of Jacaré. Their personalities were just REALLY close to each other in my opinion.

For the sake of spoilers, I’ll just say the plot is intriguing. Becky created a new world with a deep history. (Some of the past events were confusing for me at times though. I couldn’t get the timeline straight.) The Performers’ Camp is the coolest part of the setting. I did not like the extreme cliffhanger the story ended on! It was waaaaayyy too abrupt! (When I say I didn’t like it, I mean that it was torture to do that to readers. Have you no mercy, Becky?!)

This was a pretty interesting read. Becky gets 4.75 out of 5 stars!

 

Leave a Reply

