Mourning the End of “Six of Crows”

I have to thank my wonderful friend Melanie (who blogs over at One Less Lonely Blog) for six-of-crows-cover-bardugosending me Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo, as a holiday present. She had already gotten me into the Grisha world before, so it made sense that she would be the one who took me back to that universe.

If I’m being completely honest, I read the first chapter and thought: Ehhhh. Melanie LOVED/LOVES this book and past-me was totally feeling doubtful I was going to love it, too (and of course I didn’t want to disappoint my friend). Little did past-me know, the following chapters would take me into a glorious whirlwind adventure. In no time, my feelings went from :/ to 😀 !

Synopsis: Kaz, an infamous gang member, is approached to take on an impossible heist: break into the impenetrable Ice Court and retrieve a valuable prisoner. The offer on the table is high, and Kaz can’t refuse. He rallies his own team: the spy, the trigger-happy boy, the Grisha, the stoic convict, and the new kid on the block. Together, they attempt to make the impossible possible, without going to prison or getting killed.

This is going to be a very short review because the book left me speechless.

Characters: Complex and so real. The chapters switch between character perspectives and each one was impeccable. (Nikolai was missing unfortunately, but I get that it’s not his story. If I want him, I’ll have to go back to Shadow and Bone.)
Setting: Back in the Grisha world, so no problems there. I’m convinced I can visit Ketterdam in the real world if I wanted.
Plot: Freaking genius. You want a heist, you’ve got a heist, but don’t think it will be an easy task. Lots of action and spine-tingling goodness coming your way.
Writing: Stunning. (I wish I could write so flawlessly.)
Aesthetics: I’m drooling over this book. The jacket cover is beautiful. The maps (yes, plural) are so helpful. The actual book is so cool, with elegant black page edges all around. Seriously, if you want to buy the book, you’re missing out if you opt for an e-version.

This book gets one star for each of its main characters: 6 out of 5 stars. Can I do that? Oh well, I did.

What are you doing still here? Go read this book! You NEED it in your life, you just don’t know it yet! If you’ve already read this book, did you devour it like I did?

Leave a Reply

