The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

secret-life-of-a-book-blogger

Tanaz Masaba at Bookish Freaks tagged me for The Secret Life of a Book Blogger tag about a week ago, so it’s about time that I posted!

  1. How long have you been a blogger?
    I started blogging in May (2015), so I’ve only been at it for about eight glorious months. I’m still a baby in the blogverse.
  2. At what point do you think you will stop?
    I’m not sure I’ll ever stop. I want to discuss the books I’ve read, so that’s like asking me when do you plan to stop reading books. I know I get distracted and slow with posts, but that doesn’t mean I want to quit. The blogging community is too good to leave behind.
  3. What is the best thing?
    The absolute best thing about blogging is finding other readers who love the same books that I love. I get to virtually fan girl with amazing people.
    giphy
  4. What is the worst thing? What do you do to make it okay?
    There isn’t anything that terrible about being a blogger. I guess the worst part is that my posts don’t write themselves and I feel like I’m spending too much time on them when I should be focusing on other tasks…like working so I can actually survive.
  5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?
    Sometimes it takes me waaaaay too long. I love taking my own pictures of books (see my tab Beautiful Books) but I’m no expert when it comes to editing, so I’m always fooling around on Pixlr (the program I use) and seeing what I can do to improve the photos. And don’t even get me started on GIFs. I suck at searching for the feeling I want to express in GIF form. I made my own for my Shadowhunters reactions post and, even though it took me like half an hour to make only two, they still came out in bad quality. Oh well.
  6. Who’s your book crush?
    My No. 1 book crush is Kenji from Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me. What can I say? I like guys who can make me laugh. This is followed by Sturmhond from Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. And I can’t leave out Tamlin from Sarah J. Maas’s ACOTAR or Emil from Miriam Forster’s Empire of Shadows. I clearly have a problem with falling in love with fictional characters. (Send help.)
    12
     
  7. What author would you like to have on your blog?
    I would die if I could feature Lauren DeStefano on my blog. She is practically my spirit animal. She is stylish, witty, writes amazing stories, and has four adorable cats. Need I say more? (If you aren’t following her on Twitter, you are missing out! Her handle is: @LaurenDeStefano)
  8. What do you wear when you write your blog?
    I usually wear my PJs or whatever it is I wore during the day, which is typically shorts and a T-shirt. I’m actually wearing a cute romper right now, so I got dressed up for you. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  9. How long does it take you to prepare?
    When I finally find the time to sit my butt down, it doesn’t take me too long to get the ball rolling on writing a blog. I just stare blankly at a wall for a second, check Twitter, and then I get started.
  10. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?
    LOVE it. Everyone is so nice and accepting. I’m super shy, and I try to open up more via Twitter/blogs to others, but I’m slow to start. So if anyone reading this thinks we have anything in common, please tell me you stalked my profile and think we will be great friends. (If you’ve readย Shatter Meย and thoroughly enjoyed it, that is a perfect in to start a conversation with me.) I will gladly welcome you into my book-nerd life.
    giphy2.gif
     
  11. What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?
    I’m still pretty new, but so far I would have to say interacting with other bloggers. It definitely gets your blog circulating more. And obviously have a great blog and don’t plagiarize from others.
  12. Who do you tag?
    Here are some new people that I’ve met recently that I’d like to get to know better (and if you’ve already done this tag, sorry!):
    Always Opinionated Girl
    Flying Through Fiction
    A Kernel of Nonsense
    A Book and a Cup of Coffee
    Books A Blog
    The YA Book Traveler
    Great Imaginations

6 thoughts on “The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

  1. Thank you so much for the tag! I spend way too much time myself doing graphics for the blog and in the end I’m never truly satisfied. Book blogging is such a great way to find like-minded individuals, and it’s always nice to find someone to fangirl with. I absolutely adore Tamlin too! I’m looking forward to doing this tag ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww yay! I’m glad you like the tag ๐Ÿ™‚ And Tamlin! He’s too swoon worthy for words. I wanted to entice my sister to read the book and I was going to read her the biting scene, but I couldn’t. It was too steamy and I was like, “Ok, this is too inappropriate for me to read out loud.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

