A Raving Review for “The Raven Boys”

I first heard about The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater, from my fabulous friend Melanie–as in Melanie from One Less Lonely Blog. Since  we share similar tastes in books, I knew I would probably like it after Melanie raved about it. (She loves the series.) She wanted me to read it so badly that she mailed me my own copy. I can honestly say that it did not disappoint.

Synopsis: Blue comes from a family of psychics. Each year Blue accompanies her Screenshot 2015-11-21 21.49.32mother to the corpse road where souls of those who will soon die can be seen, except Blue never sees them. This year she sees one: Gansey. As it turns out, Gansey is a Raven Boy, a student at Aglionby. Blue has sworn off all Aglionby boys, but she feels compelled to Gansey and his group of friends and joins them on a magical hunt for a Welsh legend.

Maggie writes beautifully. I see everything so clearly in my head and I feel like I’m really getting to know these characters. The issues they deal with make them such well-developed, rounded characters.

Melanie loves Gansey, but I have a crush on Adam–he’s more of my type. Blue is refreshing; she seems to keep to herself, but she’s not afraid to speak her mind. (And I kept imagining Melanie in my head since she styled her hair after Blue, so of course I had to love Blue!)

The plot itself revolves around a Welsh legend and it adds a heightened sense of magic, as if Blue’s psychic family wasn’t enough. There are ley lines, trees that know Latin, and ghosts. So many fantasy elements seamlessly woven into this world.

The book makes for a fantastic read: 5 out of 5 stars!

2 thoughts on “A Raving Review for “The Raven Boys”

  1. The only MS book I have read was The Scorpio Races, which turned out to not be my thing. I am rather lacking in knowledge in regards to mythology, otherwise I may have gotten more from it. I have heard a lot of good things about this book though. I am glad that you liked it so well. Thank you for your review. I may have to give another of her books a go.

    Like

    1. This was my first MS book. Her books must be very different because I know someone who did not like Shiver, but thought The Raven Boys was “very cool,” so you’ll have to give it a try 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

