“A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Reptile Room” Reviewed

I’m very much aware that this series is not YA, but I have NEVER read any of these books before now (as unbelievable as that sounds). But these books are still a staple in the youth reading world, like stepping stones to YA.image

Synopsis: The Baudelaire orphans have escaped from the evil clutches of Count Olaf. They find solace with their Uncle Monty, reptilian expert. But the troubles of these orphans is not over yet.

I still approve of the defining of some big words because, honestly, I don’t always know the meanings and it’s useful for the younger audience. I know some people hate it and feel as if it’s condescending, but… agree to disagree.

Uncle Monty is adorable. And I love that the orphans get some love. He treats them wonderfully.

The only part I absolutely hated was Snicket’s spoiler in the beginning, which I’ll just say it since he does. He basically says, “By the way, don’t get too fond of Uncle Monty. He’ll be dead in no time.” I mean I understand Snicket likes to make it clear that awful things happen to these children, but he doesn’t need to outright say it. I like a bit of guessing, even if it’s obvious and I see it coming. Can you imagine JK Rowling writing at the beginning of her last book, “Heads up. Harry wins and Voldy dies.” Sure we all expect that to happen or else everyone’s childhood is ruined, but you don’t say it in the book for crying out loud!

Now that my rant is over, everything else was splendid. I especially liked the Deadly Viper and all the irony.

This book gets 4 out of 5 stars.

One thought on ““A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Reptile Room” Reviewed

Leave a Reply

