Add Some ADSOM to Your Life

After joining the Goodreads’s Ford Audiobook Club, I received an Audible code for A Darker Shade of Magic (ADSOM) by V.E. Schwab to get the book for free. This was my first audiobook, so it was an interesting experience. I listened while washing dishes and on road trips, so it took me a while to finish it. (I prefer reading the words myself.)

Synopsis: Kell has the power to travel through worlds: Red London, White imageLondon, and Grey London. Kell delivers correspondence for the royals between the Londons, but he also takes souvenirs and sells them to the other worlds, something that is forbidden. Kell finally meets the consequences of his actions and is joined by the fierce Delilah “Lila” Bard to right his wrongs. The fate of the worlds depends on them.

At first, I was a little distracted with the audiobook narrator and surprised with all his different voices, but I soon got into it. (Though Lila’s voice didn’t sound right to me the whole time–I think he tried too hard with her.)

The plot is very cool. We learn about the different worlds and their level of magic. And there are minor (well minor compared to the BIG problem) conflicts dealing with Kell and Lila that I liked.

I wasn’t swooning over Kell, and I wonder if others reading ADSOM loved him. I thought he was cool, but not my type of book boyfriend. I feel like my indifference has to do with the audiobook narrator because he read Kell in a very harsh tone that put me off. Kell’s history is still a mystery and I’m excited to learn about that in the next book (hopefully I won’t have to wait until the third).

A word on Lila Bard: Amazing. She has some rough edges, but they make her even more likable. She’s just as much a main character as Kell. She is a female character that all girls/women should strive to be. A very take-action character who does what she wants and gets what she wants. Lila is my hero(ine)!

This audiobook gets 4 out 5 stars!

2 thoughts on “Add Some ADSOM to Your Life

Leave a Reply

