I’ve Ended the “End of Days”

I’m sad that there isn’t anymore the the Penryn and the End of Days trilogy. It was so Screenshot 2016-01-16 13.48.10.pngamazing. The message, the characters, the dialogue, the everything. If you recall, I didn’t fall in love with the second book because I missed the Penryn and Raffe moments that were more numerous in Angelfall. That’s probably my favorite part about the story. But once they met up again, the book picked up. So I was looking forward to End of Days, knowing that the Penryn-Raffe team had joined up again. And I was not disappointed.

Penryn’s and Raffe’s relationship continues to develop and bloom throughout the let book. (Yay!) They’re together and making it through the apocalypse. Swoon worthy moments, I’m telling you. When you put the two of them together, you just feel the chemistry fly off the page. Whenever they were split up, I was just thinking “please no.” But they found each other again pretty quickly. Fate/God/destiny must have wanted them to be together.

And we learn more about angel politics and Uriel’s plan and Raffe’s Watchers who were sent to the Pit. The Pit is awful. The angel trials are awful. All things supernatural are barbaric basically. You’d think that a trial would be more civilized, but no. It’s not a human trial, it’s a last-one-standing angel trial.

And Penryn has many more moments of being an awesome/brave/I-can-kick-your-butt-if-I-have-to heroine. With Pooky Bear by her side, of course. She steps up for the Resistance efforts and proves what a being a good person is all about. Even Paige helps the Resistance with her scorpion angel pets. Penryn’s family become important to the story.

I wish there was more. End of Days finished and it was like: That’s it? There must be pages missing. I need more. But it’s over, and I will never forget the angel-apocalyptic tale of Penryn and Raffe. Standing ovation to Susan Ee.

4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

