I’m Dying, Mara Dyer

Disclaimer: I’m a big baby. “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer,” by Michelle Hodkin, Screenshot 2016-01-16 13.39.46thoroughly creeped me out. Not my usual cup of tea. If I saw the trailer for this as a movie, I’d probably stay far away so I would avoid having nightmares.

I don’t want to go into the details but let’s just say it’s psychotic. Mara has problems.

I did, however, really like the dialogue. The characters felt really. Not to mention that the majority of the book took place in Miami- where I’m from, so I recognized and could see the places they went to. And there’s a little tidbit about a Cuban restaurant that made me giggle. Anyway, Mara has a spitfire way of speaking. I like her. The back and forth between her and Noah/Daniel/Jamie was written wonderfully. Kudos to Michelle. Toward the end there was a fun little twist.

I’d like to see where they take that, but I’m not sure I’ll read the next one. I’m frightened of being scarred for life. If you’re into the creeptastic, by all means go for it.

Due to my particular tastes, I have to give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

